Home » Developer & Programmer » JDeveloper, Java & XML » format/indent XML output
format/indent XML output [message #193886] Tue, 19 September 2006 16:20 Go to next message
mfry
Hi there, I'm new to extracting DB data to XML output using the functions XMLElement, XMLAttributes, XMLAgg...

I'm getting the output I want (saved to a file) in SQLPlus, except that all of the XML is in a single very long line of output. Meanwhile all the examples I've seen in the Oracle docs show neat XML nicely indented, etc. etc.

Am I missing something here? Is there some simple option I need to turn on (or off) to get neat output? Or have the documented examples I saw just been 'doctored' to make them easier to read?

Thanks for any help you can provide,

M.
Re: format/indent XML output [message #193915 is a reply to message #193886] Tue, 19 September 2006 22:07 Go to previous messageGo to next message
hobbes
An EXTRACT('/*') on the XML generates formatted output.
SQL> SELECT XMLELEMENT("dataset",
  2           XMLELEMENT("element1", 'test1'),
  3           XMLELEMENT("element2", 'test2')).getStringVal() xml
  4  FROM dual;

XML
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<dataset><element1>test1</element1><element2>test2</element2></dataset>

SQL> SELECT XMLELEMENT("dataset",
  2           XMLELEMENT("element1", 'test1'),
  3           XMLELEMENT("element2", 'test2')).EXTRACT('/*').getStringVal() xmlf
  4  FROM dual;

XMLF
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
<dataset>
  <element1>test1</element1>
  <element2>test2</element2>
</dataset>
I notice that the examples in the documentation get "pretty-printed" XML without doing this, though - that's a mystery to me as well. Smile
Re: format/indent XML output [message #194089 is a reply to message #193915] Wed, 20 September 2006 14:40 Go to previous messageGo to next message
mfry