Home » RDBMS Server » Performance Tuning » Oracle 8/9/10 performance problem
Oracle 8/9/10 performance problem [message #65817] Tue, 04 January 2005 06:10 Go to next message
Glyn Dobson
I am having very big problems trying to test a piece of software that heavily relies on an Oracle Database. The last version of the software was working OK, but now it is very slow and, at sometimes, completely unresponsive. It seems that the database it just taking a very long time replying to adds/deletes/query's.

Is there any way I can somehow put the database into 'debug' mode where it will create a log file of what it is doing so I can see why its taking so long?

I am very new to Oracle, so i'm sorry if my question is very simple - but nobody at work seems to be able to help. We have Oracle 8i, 9i and 10g - so advice on any of these databases would be very much appreciated.
Re: Oracle 8/9/10 performance problem [message #65820 is a reply to message #65817] Tue, 04 January 2005 20:27 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Frank
Better take a look at the documentation; tuning is not something you do on a rainy wednesday afternoon.
In short there are a couple of things you can do:
- Enable session tracing: Start a session in your application. Find out the sid and serial for your session and use dbms_system.set_sql_trace_in_session for that session to true. Now all statements executed from this session are written to a trace-file, along with the time needed to parse, execute and fetch. Also the needed logical and fysical I/O are stored.
You can find this file in the user-dump directory. To find out where that is give the following command in sqlplus: show parameter user_dump_dest.
Close your session. Go to the directory (on the db-server) indicated by the user_dump_dest and look for your trace-file. This tracefile can be formatted using tkprof. This is a standard Oracle tool:
"tkprof <<z>tracefile> <<z>outputfile> sys=no sort=prsela,fchela exeela"