Home » RDBMS Server » Server Administration » Move Oracle 11gr2 database to new Windows server? (Oracle 11.2.0.2 Windows 2008 R2)
Move Oracle 11gr2 database to new Windows server? [message #617258] Thu, 26 June 2014 09:32 Go to next message
VAtechie
I'm more a SQL DBA but been tasked to move an Oracle 11gr2 database from Windows 2003 to Windows 2008 R2 server. No db upgrade is involved. Trying to figure out the easiest method for moving the database to a new server. In SQL I would perform either a native backup/restore or detach the database from the source, copy over the data/log files and attach them to the new server instance. Is it similar in Oracle?

I have not found any concrete Oracle articles on the best method for moving databases. I'm still learning so if anyone can give me a quick overview of steps involved to move with either RMAN or simply copying over the data/redo/control files...etc that would be great.

Any input appreciated.
Re: Move Oracle 11gr2 database to new Windows server? [message #617261 is a reply to message #617258] Thu, 26 June 2014 09:34 Go to previous messageGo to next message
BlackSwan
1) SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE
2) copy all necessary file from old server to new server to same directory locations
3) STARTUP
Re: Move Oracle 11gr2 database to new Windows server? [message #617271 is a reply to message #617258] Thu, 26 June 2014 10:33 Go to previous messageGo to next message
EdStevens
How big is the database?
What is your outage window?

Blackswan's advice is one solution, but taking that solution it is incomplete for a Windows environment. To expand a bit on that solution:

Identify all the files that belong to the database - data files, online redo logs, control files, init files (init<sid>.ora or spfile<sid>.ora; Copy them into the same-named directories on the target server.

Use the 'oradim' utility (see the docs at docs.oracle.com) to create the necessary database service.