Home » Other » Training & Certification » Any recommended ebooks on Basic Oracle Administration? (WinXP)
Any recommended ebooks on Basic Oracle Administration? [message #590614] Sat, 20 July 2013 06:20 Go to next message
marksquall
Dear members and administrators,

Hello and a greeting of peace.

I am new to Oracle database, and I just want to familiarize myself with the RDBMS so I installed Oracle 10g XE and tried to click here and there, try some queries (using the hr account), for simple data extractions (my basic knowledge in SQL). I am using the Web interface, but someone said I could use an IDE (almost similar to Microsoft SQL Server) so that my Oracle database experience would be a breeze. I would like to have a list of those IDE so I could try it on my own, please?

But the main reason for this thread is that I would like to have ebook/s with such topics like how to use the Oracle properly (installation, simple user management, etc.), execute SQL specific for Oracle from basic to intermediate to advance (if any), etc.

Could someone would be nice to recommend such ebook/s? Smile
Thank you and more power.

Respectfully Yours,

MarkSquall
Re: Any recommended ebooks on Basic Oracle Administration? [message #590617 is a reply to message #590614] Sat, 20 July 2013 06:37 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
Here you go,

http://www.oracle.com/pls/db102/homepage

start with the Concepts Guide.

but really, you should consider installing the current release, which is 12.1. Release 10.2 drops out of Extended Support into Sustaining Support (ie, pretty much unsupported) at the end of this month.
Re: Any recommended ebooks on Basic Oracle Administration? [message #590625 is a reply to message #590614] Sat, 20 July 2013 10:35 Go to previous messageGo to next message
matthewmorris68