Home » Other » Client Tools » TOAD Not Finding Oracle 11g Client (TOAD 10.6, Oracle 11g 64-bit)
TOAD Not Finding Oracle 11g Client [message #589147] Tue, 02 July 2013 14:37 Go to next message
skyline01
Hi,

I am a total newbie to Oracle and TOAD, so I hope people don't roll their eyes at my question. I have searched all over for an answer, but I have not been able to find anything that works.

I am running TOAD 10.6 on Windows 7 (64-bit). I have two 64-bit Oracle 11g clients installed (all on the same machine). The first is Instant Client (client_1); the second is the Runtime client (client_2). The installation of Instant Client was a mistake, since it doesn't have a Network / Admin folder to drop a tnsnames.ora file into. The Runtime client is my desired client, which has the aforementioned folder that I subsequently dropped the file into.

On starting TOAD, it says that "No valid Oracle Client found. Please note that Toad only supports 32 bit Oracle Client installations". (This is odd, since my colleague is running the same Oracle Runtime client as me and has TOAD 11.6, and yet his is working fine. But, this is aside the point.) When, I click on the ellipsis button next to the "Connecting Using" field, TOAD says that I don't have any Oracle homes installed. I checked my registry key (via regedit) under Computer / HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE / SOFTWARE / ORACLE. It looks like I have 2 Oracle homes (because of the 2 clients).

Also, I right-clicked on My Computer and brought up Properties, Advanced system settings, Environment Variables (on the Advanced tab). My PATH variable has both of my clients.

Does anybody know how to make my available clients (particularly, my client_2) show up in TOAD?

Here is what I have tried thus far:
-Alter the PATH variable to just have client_2. This didn't do anything.
-Try to uninstall client_1 and client_2 via: