Home » Server Options » Replication » Creative conflict resolution (Oracle 10gR2, Windows Server)
Creative conflict resolution [message #445267] Sat, 27 February 2010 00:08 Go to next message
Brent.Billups
Hi:

I am new to Oracle Advanced replication. I have replication working as I expect. I am trying to learn how to handle conflict resolution. I have reviewed the sites, and most of the examples seem pretty simple; not exactly what I am looking for.

I would like to be able to use a user defined function to allow merging of values on an update conflict. Under many conditions, some of the columns may be updated by different sites. So if I have columns a, b, and c and the old value was [a1, b1, c1] the current values are [a1, b2, c1] and new values are [a1, b1, c2], I would like the result to be [a1, b2, c2]. I am not clear if this is possible, or how to do it if it is.

The documentation indicates no DDL, no transactions (rollbacks, commits) or altering the system/session. But it isn't clear that we can't update the row, or how to see any values other than the parameter column of the resolution method.

Thanks,
Brent
Re: Creative conflict resolution [message #445268 is a reply to message #445267] Sat, 27 February 2010 02:45 Go to previous messageGo to next message
John Watson
I've had a couple of run-ins with Adv Replication. Could you do this with column groups? From the chapter 5 of the Adv Rep doc,
Quote:

Use Column Groups

Column groups can help you avoid conflicts even if you do not apply any conflict resolution methods to the column groups. When your replicated table contains multiple column groups, each group is viewed independently when analyzing updates for conflicts.

For example, consider a replicated table with column group a_cg and column group b_cg. Column group a_cg contains the following columns: a1, a2, and a3. Column group b_cg contains the following columns: b1, b2, and b3.

The following updates occur at replication sites sf.world and la.world: