Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » can anyone help me to restore tables from full offline backup. (oracle 11g)
can anyone help me to restore tables from full offline backup. [message #406446] Thu, 04 June 2009 01:14 Go to next message
neha_sanap

I have taken full_offline backup in noarchive mode of my database to local system Sad
then i dropped one of the table in database.
Now i m trying to restore it.
jst using,
restore database.
recover database commands.

I am very new to the oracle ,I read a lot of blogs on it,
what i found is we need to create some tablespace for database .we cannot restore database from default SYSTEM tablespace.

When i created database i ddnt specified any Tablespace for it so i think it must be default tablespace.
and even during restoration i ddnt used any until time clause..

Sad please help me..

Can anyone please tell me steps for it..i jst want to restore my tables..
Re: can anyone help me to restore tables from full offline backup. [message #406447 is a reply to message #406446] Thu, 04 June 2009 01:20 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Michel Cadot
Account Moderator
There are many things you don't know.
I recommend you to FIRST read the followings:
Database Concepts
Backup and Recovery Basics
Administrator's Guide

Regards
Michel
Re: can anyone help me to restore tables from full offline backup. [message #406451 is a reply to message #406446] Thu, 04 June 2009 01:51 Go to previous messageGo to next message
vinniora
Hi,U have to perform incomplete recovery.Steps to do this are:-

1.SHUTDOWN IMMEDIATE
2.Restore the most recent whole database backup with operating system commands
3.if you did not back up the online redo logs, you cannot restore them with the datafiles and control files.
SQL> RECOVER DATABASE UNTIL CANCEL USING BACKUP CONTROLFILE
SQL> CANCEL
4.Then open the database with the RESETLOGS option to reset the current redo log sequence to 1 as follows:
SQL> ALTER DATABASE OPEN RESETLOGS;