Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » RMAN Backup done..Now what should I do?
RMAN Backup done..Now what should I do? [message #383519] Thu, 29 January 2009 01:08 Go to next message
Himanshu.Padmanabhi
Hi Geeks,I have very little knowledge about oracle 11g and probably database as a whole.I am asking very primitive question here.please help.

I want to carry out this simple test.

Create database.Fill it with entries.Take backup using RMAN.Do some changes.Then restore database to revert to original database.

I created a database through "Database Configuration Assistant" named "testingdb".

Then through RMAN,I took the cold backup as mentioned in one document.

run {
shutdown immediate
startup nomount;
sql 'alter database mount';
backup full
tag full_offline_backup
format '\app\Administrator\flash_recovery_area\TESTINGDB\%d_%U_%T'
(database);
sql 'alter database open';
}

(I am backing up "testingdb" here.But where this name is specified in the above code?should I replace (database) with any name?only format thing I changed according to my requirement.Do I need to change anything more above.)

So in "\app\Administrator\flash_recovery_area\TESTINGDB\",I got 2 backup files.All goes well here.

Now,I should change some data so that I can confirm that restore,recover operation takes place successfully.Is it correct way to check recovery,restore?

If I do,"select * from testingdb;",table doesn't exist by this name.

Then using web-based database control,choosing database instance as "testingdb",I created table under "Data Movement->Move Row data->Load data from user files",now this I can see using "select * from table_under_testingdb?".

Now I will restore to retain to my previous state using,

run {

shutdown immediate
startup nomount
set until SCN=348981;
restore controlfile;
alter database mount;
restore database;
recover database noredo;
alter database open resetlogs;

}
(Is this the correct code for recovery,restore?)