Home » RDBMS Server » Backup & Recovery » Test backup/recovery (Solaris 10, Database 10.2.0.2)
Test backup/recovery [message #333230] Thu, 10 July 2008 23:24 Go to next message
trantuananh24hg
Hi all!
First, wish best to you!
I am a DBA, as this position, I must plan for all backup/recovery strategies, of course, they are execution in Database testing. Suppose one of situation following:

1/ No such indispensable infrastructure available:
- All of backup are in the same machine of Database.
- No more tapes, no more disks apart from Box-disk external which contains the full backup weekly and Level1 backup daily. This box-disk can be taken from of DB’s machine away
2/ Operation, Database and RMAN’s strategy
- Operation: Solaris 10 - /u01
- Database: 10.2.0.2
Quote:

o Oracle_Home: /u02/app/oracle/product/10.2.0/CloneDB
o Oracle_Sid=db_name=service_name=DBTest
o Datafile: /u03/datafiles/*.dbf
o Control_file: /u03/controlfiles/*.ctl
o Spfile: /u03/spfile/spfileClone.ora
o Archive_log_file: /u03/archivelogfile/*.arc

- RMAN’s strategy: Recovery window of 2 days.
Quote:

o Backup by control_files (no catalog)
o Weekly Level 0 backup
o Daily Level 1 backup
o No flashback
o Archivelog backup with level 1 daily, delete input
o Backup include current controlfiles

3/ Testing:
- First, backup full database at Monday – Level 0, the backup files is located at /u03/backupfull/Level0*.bkp
- Second, backup Level 1 at Tuesday, the backup files is located at /u03/backupIncremental/Level1/Level1*.bkp
- Third, backup all of archive_log_files, the backup files is located at /u03/backuparchivelog/ArcBkp.arc, this step may be executed with level 1 internal backup_script
- Copy all of the backup files to the box-disk which managed by the other machine using Windows XP.
- Suppose all of backup files have total size is 40GB, actually, some database has big datafiles, may be 4TB, may be 400GB (if there are, nothing better than Tape, but this is simply situation)